Legislative Report from NC Federation of Republican Women

Your blogger’s friend, Brenda T. Formo, volunteers diligently following both the U.S. Congress and the North Carolina General Assembly,  to provide updates for the membership of the North Carolina Federation of Republican Women (NCFRW).  That group, which includes your blogger, is active in electing Republicans statewide.  They host legislative days, as well as visits for their members to visit the North Carolina Congressional delegation in Washington.

They also visit troops and families at the Fisher Houses, help the USO, and a number of other needed tasks.

To find out more, find a local club near you.

North Carolina Federation of Republican Women – Legislative Report
Brenda T. Formo
January 27, 2011
U.S. House of Representatives

On January 25, 2011 the House voted on a bill entitled “To reduce spending through a transition to non-security spending at fiscal year [FY] 2008 levels.”  The bill passed 256 to 165 with 13 not voting.

NC Representatives voting for the bill:  Renee Ellmers (R-2nd), Walter B. Jones, Jr.  (R-3rd), Virginia Foxx (R-5th), Howard Coble (R-6th), Larry Kissell (D-8th), Sue Myrick (R-9th), Patrick T. McHenry (R-10th), and Heath Shuler (D-11th).

NC Representatives voting against it:  G.K. Butterfield (D-1st), David E. Price (D-4th),

Mike McIntyre (D-7th), Melvin L. Watt (D-12th), and Brad Miller (D-13th).

On January 26, 2011 the House voted on a bill, “To reduce Federal spending and the deficit by terminating taxpayer financing of presidential election campaigns and party conventions.”  The bill passed 239 to 160 with 35 not voting.

NC Representatives voting for the bill:  Renee Ellmers (R-2nd), Virginia Foxx (R-5th), Howard Coble (R-6th), Sue Myrick (R-9th), Patrick T. McHenry (R-10th), and Heath Shuler (D-11th).

NC Representatives voting against it:  G.K. Butterfield (D-1st), Walter B. Jones, Jr.  (R-3rd), David E. Price (D-4th), Mike McIntyre (D-7th), Larry Kissell (D-8th), Melvin L. Watt (D-12th), and Brad Miller (D-13th)

The North Carolina General Assembly

NC House of Representatives

The 120 members of the NC House of Representatives were sworn in on January 26, 2011, when the House convened at 12 Noon.  Members include 67 Republicans, 52 Democrats and 1 Unaffiliated. The room and balcony were packed for the historic event.

The Representatives voted for the Speaker of the House.  Republicans nominated Thom Tillis (Mecklenburg) and Democrats nominated Joe Hackney (Chatham, Moore, Orange).  Tillis won with 74 votes, Hackney had 46.

House Speaker Tillis delivered comments to the attendees.  He said that NC has a budget deficit as a result of high spending.  He noted that we must lower expectations on what the government does for us and raise expectations on what we can do for ourselves as individuals.  His plans for the House include:  a sunset of temporary taxes, to pass a term limit bill, and to complete a 180 – day schedule around June 4, 2011.
He added that the House must act swiftly on Education, Health and Human Services, Law Enforcement and Transportation infrastructure.  The cost of government needs to be reduced through privatization.  Goals of Republicans in the House are based on:  limited government, free markets, and federalism.  Citizens have been taxed enough as exemplified by the TEA Party movement.

Tillis acknowledged the  Republican Women’s caucus who were wearing red and admired their red roses, given as gifts from the NCFRW.  He noted that the House men were wearing red ties and that both the women and men symbolized Republican unity by wearing red. He also thanked former Speaker Hackney and his staff for the help they had given him during the transition.
Speaker Tillis has a new gavel, which he has named “Ray” as a tribute to his father.  The gavel was made from a long leaf pine tree planted in the Colonial Forest of NC that lived more than 100 years ago.  The wood was from the tree first used to build an 1830′s home, later salvaged, and recently used to make the gavel.

The House also elected a Speaker Pro Tempore.  Republicans nominated Dale Folwell (Forsyth) and Democrats nominated William Wainwright (Craven, Lenoir).  Folwell won with 68 votes and Wainwright had 52.

On the Calendar for Thursday, January 27, 2011 are the following bills:   ”Protect Health Care Freedom,”  ”Community Colleges/Opt Out of Federal Loan Program,” and “Eminent Domain” among others.

NC Senate

NC Senators were sworn in also on January 25, 2011.  Republicans hold the majority 31 to 19 in the Senate.  The Lieutenant Governor is the President of the Senate and presides over daily sessions, however he has no vote except to break a tie.  The Senate elected Senator Phil Berger (Guilford, Rockingham) as President Pro Tempore.

Senator Berger commented that, “The Senate’s primary objective is to revitalize North Carolina’s economy and foster a business climate where the private sector can create new jobs.”  He specifically highlighted the NC budget deficit of $3.7 billion and vowed to close it with the help of both parties.  Berger said, “Balancing the state’s budget and reducing government costs to families and business is how we can most effectively create jobs in North Carolina.”  His goals are to “reduce spending, balance our budget, and reform North Carolina’s regulatory environment to make our state a better place to live, work, raise a family, and start and grow a business.”

The Senate’s agenda for Thursday, January 27, 2011 includes the following bills from Senator Don Vaughn (Democrat-Guilford):  ”Broaden Sweepstakes Law,” and “Make Synthetic Cannabinoids Illegal.”  Used as an alternative to marijuana, Synthetic Cannabinoids are known as “Spice,” “K2″ or “Genie” and in 2010 at least 11 state legislatures outlawed them.  This year, 21 states have introduced legislation related to the drug.

Sources:  house.gov; ncga.state.nc.us; Notes from House of Representatives Opening Day, prepared by Brenda T. Formo, Jan 26, 2011;  NC Senate Caucus, Jan 26, 2011; and ncsl.org, “Synthetic Cannabinoids (K2),” Jan 18, 2011. 
North Carolina Federation of Republican Women
Dena Barnes
North Carolina Federation of Republican Women


One Response to “Legislative Report from NC Federation of Republican Women”

  • Will the NCFRW be publishing these legislative updates on their website? I’m a member but do not see these updates on their website.